Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 31st, 2011

Presidential politics has become a full-time job.  As I read John 6 this morning, I pondered how odd the scene would be if Jesus were suddenly launched into the fray of our Presidential campaign.  But first, the backstory of John 6.

Jesus feeds 5000 men, using 5 small loaves and 2 small fish.  I think it’s funny that John uses the adjective small. Seems comically incongruent next to the number 5000.  When the crowd realizes the miracle, they attempt to launch Jesus’ presidential campaign on the spot.  But Jesus’ reaction is counterintuitive. When no one is looking, he slips away, climbing a nearby mountain to be alone with His Father.

From my journal this morning:

The Galilee Gazette, An Analysis, August 30.

The politically opportune moment has come for Jesus to announce His candidacy for the Presidency.  The crowds are greatly aroused, a movement about to be birthed.  The Press is poised.  Satellite trucks from every News Network are enroute.  Photographers scramble to document the furor.  Happy pandemonium is in the air.

But Jesus slipped away in the crowd, when no one was paying attention.

This won’t be his entry into this year’s Presidential campaign.

From this tempting moment, Jesus decided to cut off all other voices except His Father’s.  He went alone, to a mountain, to meet the only Audience that matters to Him.

When such an alluring moment of popularity, press, power, and position pushes me to the podium, moves me to the microphone before an adoring crowd, what choice will I make?  Will I soak in the adulation and privilege, or will I run to the only Audience who knows my heart and soul, who Alone deserves the praise of all people?

Will I run to the Microphone or the Mountain?

O great and loving God, help me see reality with Your eyes, and never erroneously compare the size of my audience to the Glory of the One and Only.  Time alone with You is superior — every time — compared to the adulation of the crowd.

Jesus, You model for me what is primary: the company of your Father. No rivals.”

Read Full Post »